Alla inlägg under november 2016

Av x y - 9 november 2016 11:34

I don't know if I would call the book series Fifty Shades controversial or not, but now I have read the second book in the thrilogy and I'm actually surprised about the turn in the novels. I read Fifty Shades in upper secondary school for a school assignment and bought all three books but after I read the first one I didn't tuch the others until know. I don't know why I didn't read the other ones, propably because of how sex was portrayed in the first and I felt maybe a bit ashamed for reading it. But now I have read the second one and well there is still a lot of hot sex described in the novel but the story really moves forward in an unexpected way.


 


I can't help but to notice all the similarities with Twilight, Ana and Christian's behaviour is so much like Bella's and Edward's in Twilight, which at times can be a bit disturbing I think. One main event I believe is really similar is the reaction both of them have when Ana leaves Christian in the end of the first novel. Ana kind of starves herself in the same way Bella does in Twilight and Christan claims he hasn't been able to think about something else but her very much like Edward in Twilight. Another similarity is when Christan disapears and Ana doesn't know if he is alive or not, her feelings is a lot like Bella's in the second book Full Moon where she doesn't know if she will be in time to save Edward or not. 


I wouldn't maybe use this particular novel in the classroom, mainly because of the sex scenes described but well I read it in school and analysed it from a feministic perspective and well for that this novel works really well. I believe that if teachers are to use this novel they need to have a goal or aim with it something more than just reading and analysing. I also believe that if the students chooses the novel themselves you as a teacher should let them read it and analyse it since the novel has a lot of interesting aspects in one way.

Av x y - 8 november 2016 10:15

It's been a while since i wrote about a novel or frankly anything I have read. I asume almost everyone has heard of The Great Gatsby written by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I read this novel last semester but yeasterday we had a guest lecturer at the university talking about Gatsby's sifting personal identity. This novel is a bit different from an ordinary novel it is narrated from the view of a character who are present in the story. This aspect of the narration makes the novel very interesting at the same time as it makes you wonder if you can trust the narrator? Many of the events narrated in the story the narrator Nick couldn't be apart of, who how does he know what have happened and what have been said? How can we trust that what he writes is the truth? 


Narration of this novel is only one small part of the whole novel and a second really intersting aspect is Gatsby. In the beginning of the novel we don't know who he is and he is portrayed in a kind of mystical manner since he throws these parties but knowone really knows who the host of the party is. Later in the novel we learn that Gatsby throws these parties for a long lost love, Daisy. According to the lecturer Gatsby lives in the past in that manner that he believes that he and Daisy still are in love. He doesn't really see Daisy as who she is, for example, Gatsby can't tell what it is about her that he loves so much. In one way he as injected his own person and connected his own identity to Daisy and when loosing her he looses himself. 


 


I haven't seen the film adaptation of the novel, but the lecturer argued that the film portrayed a love story which actually never takes place in the film. It's not a love story, it's a story about identity in one manner. As a reader you can almost decide yourself what kind of story you want to get out of it since there are a lot of interpretations you can make.


If I would use this novel in a class it would be in English 7 since it is not a very easy novel to read or to understand. I would use it as a part of a theme about identity for example since this novel portrayes Gatsby's idenity crisis in one manner and how he deals with it. The interpretation could be somewhat dark since Gatsby dies at the end of the novel and I believe that if he hadn't been shoot he would have taken his own life because he has lost his identity. Gatsby identified himself in Daisy and loosing her is to much for him.

Av x y - 7 november 2016 17:28

Okey, going abroad isn't easy and you get a lot of information. The main reason behind why it is diffuclt to go abroad at least for me is because I'm one of the first students going abroad from the newly made teacher program studying history during my time abroad. 


I got two options if when I may go abroad, Autumn term 2017 or Spring term 2018. If I go during the Autumn I don't get to choose courses myself to the same extent as if I go during the Spring term. This is because I changde subject from English to History during Autumn 2017, which means that during this term I will study basic world history, which I can do where ever I am in the world. If I decide to go during the Spring term I will get to choose two courses that doesn't need to be related to my subject since I will have to study two courses back home either before or after I leave. At the moment it looks like I will study the didactics course during this Spring instead and then write the individual paper when I'm in the US.


There is a lot to concider before making the final decision. I still have three week before deadline, which is really good since I still need to find at least one more univeirsity to apply for!

Av x y - 7 november 2016 07:45

As you guys probalby already know it has been snowing. It's freezing outside and it's slippery so good bye cycling, Hello walking! Well, at least it only takes 15-20 minutes for me to walk to university, but I prefer going by bike since it is faster and a lot more comfortable. However, the weather forcast says it might be a bit risky to cycle this week due to the minus degrees :(


 

   

It at least looks like it will be sunny part of the time this week and not snowing. This forecast is from smhi.se and hopefully they are wrong! I'm not ready to have Winter yet I need to have Autumn first and ease into the cold weather.


Av x y - 6 november 2016 15:45

The famous quote from Game of Thrones, the words of House Stark, "Winter is coming". It really suits the weather we have had the last coupple of days. Last weekend we hade wonderful sunny Autumn weather and now its snowing and cold and the snow actually sticks to the ground.


 


At the same time as the weather is slowly changeing the mood of people changes. You feel tired, a bit cold and really don't want to leave your bed for the day, or is it just me? I hate winter, its cold, wet, snowy and cold. The only positive thing about winter is Christmas since then I get to spend time with my family.


Well, even though the motivation maybe isn't at the top there are still work to do, papers to write and texts to read. At the moment I'm not quite sure about what I'm studying it has something to do with teaching reading, speaking, writing and vocabulary but also something about research didactics. Yeah, it's really confusing with university at times. You don't always get the clearest instructions so you just go with the flow and hope that you end up at the right place at the end.

Av x y - 6 november 2016 15:37

I talked a bit about planning earlier today and I though why don't I show you guys an example of how I plan my weeks with studies, work, and other stuff that I have going on. I try to plan during the weekend before since I usually have things to to until Monday since the first seminar of the week is usually on Monday morgning.


This is just an example of how one of my weeks can look like. I only have two mandatory seminars/ week but there are a lot of work going into these seminars and it is not as chill as many think studies are. Other than studies I have some meetings about me going abroad for one semester and I have two larger work assignments and there is a planned party this weekend which I have gotten a ticket for.


As I already mentioned, this is a rough outline for one week, usually I squeeze in some gaming towards the weekend or in the middle of the week depending on when I have time.

 


Av x y - 6 november 2016 10:30

In schools teachers often talk about planning your time. But how do you do this? How do you plan your time effectively? Planning is difficult and you need to practice it but what is even more difficult is to do what you have planned. Planning is only the first part the second part so to execute the plan.


You can use different tools for planning, a calendar in your phone, computer, on paper it doesn't matter where you do your plan as long as you do it. At the moment I use google calendar but I will change into a paper calender as soon as the one I have is valid, which will be in the end of November.


In you weekly plan you first have to think about what days during the week am I booked? It can be practice, lectures, meetings, work anything that is set, that you cannot move. All the time that is left you need to figure out when to do what. You need to include studies in your plan, be sure to pinpoint what you are going to study not just that you are going to study but what. Then you also have to include time for meeting friends or doing other things such as, shopping, going to the cinema and so forth. To make it easier to get started with making your weekly plan choose a specific day of the week when you are going to do the planning. For example, Sundays, it's the last day of the week and you have the whole next week before you and your week start on the Monday and maybe you have to start studying for that test.


Want some more ideas about planning check out this short youtube clip: 

Av x y - 5 november 2016 17:15

I have decided I want to study abroad. First I wanted to go to England but that is not really possible for me as a teacker trainee since it is very difficult to find courses that suit my studies at my home univeristy. Instead I'm going to the US after one of my preofessors told me that there are three universities where it is easy to find courses that are suitable and where other students have gone and been really happy with it. 


I decided to look further into San Francisco and Duluth. I kind of think that I'm leaning more against Duluth than San Francisco and the reason why is because of the courses that are available. In Duluth there where a lot more courses and I found many that would be interesting and hopefully I will get to study some of them, keep your fingers crossed guys. The sexond reason is kind of lame but Duluth university's webpage was a lot easier to navigate and find the courses than San Francisco, which I think is really bad since I think it should be easy to find what you can study at a university. 


Since I'm probably going to the US I will get housing through the university and don't have to find an appartement on my own which I believe is a really nice benefit. Knowing beforehand that you will have somewhere to live when you get there is really calming in one way, on the other hand it is also a bit scary since you probably will share rooms with other students. But more about that when we get that far.

Presentation

I'm a 21 year old student at a university in the southern parts of Sweden.

In this blog I will write about parts of my life at university, about my studies and some reflections about teaching.

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14
15
16 17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28 29 30
<<< November 2016 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards