Alla inlägg under november 2016

Av x y - 30 november 2016 16:29

I have been doing a lot of writing the past few weeks. All my exams are write a paper about this and that and we are also going to do the exakt same thing orally just to make you life a living hell :D and to make things even more fun we always do the same thing, write a lesson plan about this. Sometimes you feel, do you even know how it looks like in schools today? It's not possible to write a 10 page lesson plan for every lesson you have and who the hell cares about what Harmer or Lundahl says about listening, writing, grammar, speaking or anything for that matter? As long as you can explain why you do what you do that should be enough right?


At least for the next paper I write I don't have to do a lesson plan but I have to write a minimum of 2000 words about using film in the classroom. I decided to write about stereotypical women in Game of Thrones focsuing primarily on Daenerys, Arya and Cersei and compare the three and then argue why it would be a great idea to use this in the classroom, how it is better to use film instead of books for teaching about stereotypes and so on. I have an idea, now I just have to make it happen and deadline is in one week. Wish me luck!

Av x y - 29 november 2016 18:08

Okey, I know the week started yesterday but I didn't have any lectures yesterday and thus didn't need to leave my appartement. Today, on the other hand, I had a lecture in Film didactics and we basically watched a lot of clips as examples about what the teacher talked about. We discussed stereotypes and norm critique in films, focusing on native americans and how they are portrayed in film.


We also talked about what rights a teacher has when it comes to show films and clips in the classroom. What is legal and what is not legal. SVTplay and TV4play is legal to show while films are a bit more difficult since the school is an institution. When it comes to films a teacher is not allowed to show film or series from a private account on for example Netflix or if he/she has borrowed a dvd, youtube is not allowed either. However, almost all teachers uses youtube or other media to show films and clips that the institution itself doesn't have the rights for. 


I think that as long as you can validate your choice of film and you have a clear purpose of using that film I don't see a problem with it. No one will sue you for using film in the classroom for educational purposes. Basically, film in the classroom and where you get it from is on your consious as a teacher and if you are fine with downloading then download, if you are not you can find clips and films on youtube and it is possible to "download" them to you computer thorugh various free programs you can find on the internet. 

Av x y - 28 november 2016 13:45

I'm going to add another chategory to the blog. Since I watch a lot of films I'm thinking that I will write about them and give you guys a short film review. I will try to connect the films to the novels I read and then of course both see the film and read the novel and compare the two. I might also write something about TV-series but mostly I will write about film.


The first film for this new chategory will be Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, I saw it this weekend and I loved it, but then I'm also a Harry Potter nerd and love everything Harry Potter. Okey, back to the film, I was surprised over the turn the film took, I though it would be about Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne) catching different magical creatures but it was so much more and you got to see many of the creatures that exist in the magical universe that we didn't get to meet in the Harry Potter series. I think they had a great twist to this one and there will be another film,  at least I believe that since Johnny Depp was in it in the last minute as Grindelwald. This can be really exsiting and I believe Grindelwald is a role that Johnny Depp suits for.


 


About the film, there was a lot of jumping due to the apparation (a traveling method), but I think that also adds to the film in a way that wouldn't be possible without it. In one way you really understand that, okey it's serious when they need to disappear fast and then they apparate. Yet again, some viewers think this is confuding and disturbing. I think that is a lot about how much you know about the Harry Potter universe and understand all the things that happen and the spells and everything. I think this film would be very confusing if you haven't seen the other films or read the books.


All in all, I think this film is really good because of the way they introduce us to the magical creatures and the ending with Grindelwald. I would have liked more background of Newt Scamander, maybe how he came to start collecting and writing his book about magical creatures, why he was expelled from Hogwarts and so on. There is a lot of thing we just don't know and I really want to know these things since I think it is really exciting.

Av x y - 26 november 2016 13:15

I have had a slow week this week, not much have happened. I have only had a position paper to write and a film pitch to do. I have been a bit stressed since I needed to get my credits in the system and yeah I had the last exam this Friday and I need the credits before the 1st of December to be allowed to apply for exchange studies. So, I have had a lot to do at the same time as I have had a slow week from the point of view of the blog. The think is, I need to prioritase my studies before the blog and other things I need to do. The blog is just an extra thing that I will do if I have time for it. 


This weekend I will spend with my love and watch film, play some computer games and actually going to the cinema and watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, I will post a review tomorrow or on Monday!

Av x y - 23 november 2016 12:00

Showing your students a film can today be a bit controversial. Should students watch film in school? Why or why not? I believe that if you use film or film clips in the right way it can be very beneficial and an easy tool to teach the students about themes, setting, plot, characters and so on. You can of course teach this through reading but sometimes it cna be nice both for students and for teachers to do something else in a new way, maybe something you haven't tried before. When using film in the classroom you have to make sure that the students don't only see the film but that they read it. There is a difference in seeing and reading and your job is to teach them how to read film.


To be able to read film the students need to watch actively and not only watching the film as entertainment. You can do this by forcing them to take notes or answering questions at the same time as they are watching. You can also choose to only use extracts instead of whole films since time is often a problem when it comes to film. However, you have to think about copyright and make sure you follow the rules when using extracts.


I believe it might be easier to teach the students about setting, plot, characters and so forth by using film since it is portrayed in a different way in films than it is in books. I don't mean that you use film instead of books but as a complement to books. It is sometimes easier to understand what you can see through examples than by reading about something.

Av x y - 21 november 2016 19:29

Okey, we have had a major set back in my chances to go abroad. Apparently you have to have 15 credits from this autumn term. I have the credits or at least I have 12,5 credits that I know of, but since the credits haven't been transfered to the database I have 0 credits at the moment and as I already mentioned I need 15. The last 2,5 credits I get from another course, which I have the exams in this Friday so if the teacher is nice she might put the credits in the system before deadline 1st of December, but she doesn't have to since she has at least 3 weeks to correct papers.


So, if I'm unlucky I won't get the credits I need before the 1st of December, which means that I can't apply for going abroad and I only get to apply if there are places left after this first round of applications. Why is it that everytime you are doing something, something goes wrong? Everytime! You get so frustrated when there is nothing you can do but to hope that your teachers care enough that they actually transfer the credits to the system. 

Av x y - 19 november 2016 16:34

It's already weekend again, time moves past quickly now and soon it is Christmas and Christmas Holiday! I have had a lot to do the last couple of days. I have had two oral presentations in one course and begun a second course and now I only have to write a paper which is due to next Friday and do a lot of reading and somewhere I have to find some time to practice my guitar. 


 


I begun to learn Misty Mountains yesterday and it actually went pretty well :D I'm going to check if I can figure out the rest later today or tomorrow. I also got a wierd thing to train the muscles in the hand in order to get more strength in the fingers and thus be able to play the guitar better, or at least that's the goal. We'll see if it works or not, hopefully it will since it would be much easier to play if it did :)

Av x y - 17 november 2016 18:05

I had an interesting discussion today at the university about bullying and how far it has gone the past few years. Was it really this big when I went to school? It probably were it's just something you choose to ignore when you grow up I asume. Our discussion made me wonder, do students actually know what bullying is? Do they understand what a bully is? I'm actually not so sure about that since the word "bully" hasn't any affect on students in todays school. They simply don't care about what they do to each other and that words can hurt so much more than if they hit someone.


I'm thinking that students today think bullying isn't that bad since adults do it all the time on the internet. Adults comment, say mean things and bully other people on social media, so if the behaviour is okey when you are an adult why shouldn't it be okey when you are in school? For teachers it's really difficult to draw a line since adults step over it all the time and students who see maybe their parents, grandparents, aunts or uncles bully people online then the behaviour is in one way accepted, the grown ups shows through their actions that this kind of behaviour is okey, so why should the students listen to the teachers saying it is not?


Social media has exploded during the last couple of years and it hardly even existed when I grew up, but today a lot of the bullying going on in schools are done in the cyberspace. Bullying going on on the internet, whose responsibility is it to stop it actually? In an article published in Skolvärden (link to article here) it says that The School Inspection thinks it is the teachers responsibility if the students involved attends the same school. My imediate thought about this is, how can it be the teachers responsibility if it happens outside of school during the weekend or a holiday break? Teachers cannot monitor the internet 24/7, it's not manageble, not with everything else the teachers have to do today. 


Bullying is a huge problem today, and there is still not a solution to it, but I do not believe that the responsibility should be put on teachers alone. Teachers see the students for 8 hours a day 5 days a week what about the 16 hours that are left? Shouldn't it be the parents responsibility to monitor what their children do on the internet when they are at home? It feels more logical that the adult that spend the most time with the child should be responsible and that is not the teacher it is the parent. It is the parents job to raise the child and that responsibility cannot be put on the teacher.

Presentation

I'm a 21 year old student at a university in the southern parts of Sweden.

In this blog I will write about parts of my life at university, about my studies and some reflections about teaching.

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14
15
16 17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28 29 30
<<< November 2016 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Skapa flashcards