Direktlänk till inlägg 16 december 2016

Desert Flower

Av x y - 16 december 2016 10:45

 

I watched one of the most beautiful but at the same time the most horrible film I have ever seen yesterday. The film is called Desert Flower and is based on the self-biography with the same title written by Waris Dirie, and tells the story of a young girl from Somalia and how she made it through the world and became a fashion model. The story does not only tell of her days as a fashion model but how she had to travel through the desert to get away from an arranged marriage to an old man when she was only 13-14 years old. The story continues in London where she lives on the street until she meets Marilyn a women who agrees to help her and at last she tells the story of women in Somalia how they get circumsiced at a young age.


This is a film I believe can be very useful in the classroom since it deal with political and societal issues as well as human rights and women's rights. Using Desert Flower in the classroom can initiate discussions about inequlities in other cultures and how different life can be for people. This is particularly portrayed in the scene where Waris, the girl from Somalia, believes that all women in the world get circumcised and is very confused when she realies that this isn't the case. She has a hard time understanding why it has happened to her but not to other women.


Today almost all classrooms are multi-cultural and understanding other cultures makes it easier to understand the people and what they believe in. It also takes away the stereotypes we have of other cultures, which is beneficial for our multi-cultural society today.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av x y - 23 december 2016 10:45

 Literary analysis might sound scary or difficult but it actually isn't when breaking it down into smaller parts. Which is what we are going to do. We are going to break down the literary analysis into four basic parts and take a look at what should ...

Av x y - 21 december 2016 12:45

As you might know most teachers teches two different subjects. These subjects are at times possible to combine with each other and thus get more teaching time for a project. For myself I will be teaching English and History and these subjects are eas...

Av x y - 20 december 2016 10:30

I've decided to broaden my blog and write a bit more about how to analyse novels, poems, films and so forth. I will go through some important aspects and terminology. I will also include references to some literature I believe is useful when analysin...

Av x y - 19 december 2016 10:45

  O Rose thou art sick.  The invisible worm,  That flies in the night  In the howling storm:    Has found out thy bed  Of crimson joy:  And his dark secret love  Does thy life destroy.   The Sick Rose, a poem written by William Blake i...

Av x y - 18 december 2016 15:30

Instead of studying I spent the day shopping for Christmas gifts and a little something to myself. I also baked a gingerbread cake since I ate the last saffron bun a few days ago and I crawed something sweet and didn't want to buy something in the st...

Presentation

I'm a 21 year old student at a university in the southern parts of Sweden.

In this blog I will write about parts of my life at university, about my studies and some reflections about teaching.

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
      1 2 3
4
5
6 7 8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15 16
17
18
19 20 21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<<< December 2016
>>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards