Alla inlägg den 9 november 2016

Av x y - 9 november 2016 11:34

I don't know if I would call the book series Fifty Shades controversial or not, but now I have read the second book in the thrilogy and I'm actually surprised about the turn in the novels. I read Fifty Shades in upper secondary school for a school assignment and bought all three books but after I read the first one I didn't tuch the others until know. I don't know why I didn't read the other ones, propably because of how sex was portrayed in the first and I felt maybe a bit ashamed for reading it. But now I have read the second one and well there is still a lot of hot sex described in the novel but the story really moves forward in an unexpected way.


 


I can't help but to notice all the similarities with Twilight, Ana and Christian's behaviour is so much like Bella's and Edward's in Twilight, which at times can be a bit disturbing I think. One main event I believe is really similar is the reaction both of them have when Ana leaves Christian in the end of the first novel. Ana kind of starves herself in the same way Bella does in Twilight and Christan claims he hasn't been able to think about something else but her very much like Edward in Twilight. Another similarity is when Christan disapears and Ana doesn't know if he is alive or not, her feelings is a lot like Bella's in the second book Full Moon where she doesn't know if she will be in time to save Edward or not. 


I wouldn't maybe use this particular novel in the classroom, mainly because of the sex scenes described but well I read it in school and analysed it from a feministic perspective and well for that this novel works really well. I believe that if teachers are to use this novel they need to have a goal or aim with it something more than just reading and analysing. I also believe that if the students chooses the novel themselves you as a teacher should let them read it and analyse it since the novel has a lot of interesting aspects in one way.

Presentation

I'm a 21 year old student at a university in the southern parts of Sweden.

In this blog I will write about parts of my life at university, about my studies and some reflections about teaching.

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14
15
16 17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28 29 30
<<< November 2016 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards