Alla inlägg under september 2016

Av x y - 10 september 2016 13:15

When studying at university you will feel stressed at times, have difficulties sleeping and bursting out in tears from time to time. Knowing how to deal with this is crucial to your wellbeing. Most universities actually have people who help students with their stress, and at the begining of the autum term at least my university offers lectures about stress and how to deal with it.


I don't know if I have found a way to deal with stress in an effective way yet. I just make sure that I do other things that only studying to keep my sanity since you will have a lot to do but no one will be happy if you do it poorly or just stay at home and never do stuff. Meeting with friends and talk about things I feel can be really good, get to ventilate you feelings and focus on something else for a few hours is really nice.

Av x y - 9 september 2016 23:52

It has been a nice Friday night. Dinner with some friends and the regular drama when girls are invovled. I really don't get why some people has to be such drama queens it's really anoying. Specially at university, it's like we are all adults here you don't have to act as you are 5... But other than that the night has been really nice. I even got som studying done before I left for the dinner which feels great since tomorrow it's time for the Welcome dinner and a bigger party after that. 


 


It's nice with some interuptions in the studies sometimes but this week it has been a lot of interuptions. First there was the party with my classmates, which ended kind of late and I got home 4 AM, then today it was dinner and tomorrow it's dinner and party. We'll see how late that will get!

Av x y - 9 september 2016 13:25

I was reading a case study The Relationship Between University Learning Experiences and English Teaching Self-Efficacy: Perspectives of Five Final-Year Pre-Service English Teachers written by Ksenia Filatov and Shane Pill the other day and what the participants said about the teacherprogramme in Australia is exactly how I feel it is here in Sweden. My focus is on upper secondary school but I'm also allowed to teach in yar 7-9 but we have never talked about these classes, what can you do with them and their curriculum. In the article they also mentioned that the teachers talk about meeting the needs of the students but nothing about how to do it, no ideas or strategies about how to deal with it.


Other things I have noticed is that teachers often say that you have to be prepared that students don't always listen or want to do things but they never give any example of what you can do about it, just that you have to think about this. I feel a bit yeah of course I'm not stupid everyone doesn't want to be in school and therefore they disturb the other students. 


Going out on my first practice I'm quite nervous that the classes I will teach will be caotic and disturb eachother and I have no idea what I should do about it since students don't listen to a teacher trainee at least not one that is approximately in their own age. 

Av x y - 8 september 2016 20:29

Eventhough I have a lot to do when it comes to my studies I really can't keep my hands off of Harry Potter and the cursed child. I have read the first act and I really love it, it is so breathtaking and I would love to get to see the play it would be wonderful and exciting. The best would've been if they would decide to make a screen play for all the fans who will not be able to travel to London and see the play. Well, at least we have the manuscript and get to know the story of Albus Potter and Scorpius Malfoy.


   


While reading this first act I reflected upon the end of the Harry Potter series and how nervous Albus was about begining at Hogwarts, how afraid he was about being put in Slytherin when both his parents and his older brother was all in Gryffindor. What Harry then tells his son is really beautiful that it doesn't matter, that he will love his son either way. Well, in the play the story evolves and many semesters come and go and the realtionship between father and son gets worse. I'm specifically thinking about the scene were Harry gives his older son James the invisibility cloak and Albus gets a ordinary blanket. I think yeah, what response did he actually expect from his son? A blanket isn't as exciting as an invisiblity cloak and I can't but think that Albus actually feels a litte betrayed by his father and maybe thinking that James got the cloak since he is in Gryffindor and he Albus gets a filthy blanket since he is in Slythering. 


The cloak and the blanket are symbols for the two houses and the two boys. One is popular and have a lot of friends while the other is unpopular and made fun of and only has one friend Scorpious the son of the archenemy of his father. 

Av x y - 7 september 2016 12:47

I have literary never been this tired and exausted. We have so much to do which means that reading novels and other texts falls behind since the time just isn't there. I have so much to read til every seminar there are articles, chapters from the course books and then other assignments. I get that the teacher is new but she doesn't have to be an overaschiever and just pile up the work. Well, well there isn't much I can do about it other than just start with the studying and begin both of the exam tasks. 


When studying at university it can be difficult to get your personal life to fit into your schedule, but I strongly believe that it is important to let yourself have breaks and spend time with friends and loved ones. Be spontaneaus ang go out for dinner or to a party, I promise the work you have to do won't go anywhere it will still be there even if you aren't home.


I also think that as a student you need to know yourself and know how you learn. Find out when, where, and how you are most effective. For myself I prefer studying in the afternoon/evening rather than during the morings, but that's just me. Some of my friends rather study in the morning so they can do other stuff in the afternoons.

Av x y - 1 september 2016 19:11

This arrived the other day and as the Harry Potter fan as I am I'm really excited over reading it. However, with my studies I don't have time to read it, but I did begin and it's amazing. I'm still at act 1, but I can really see how exciting this play really is and I would kill for getting the chance to see it live.


 


When reading this book you have to keep in mind that it is a manuscript and not a novel. The difference is severe since in a novel the author has made all the descriptions and imagination for you, when reading a manuscript you yourself have to imagine the setting, the characters, the play. It is very different from reading a novel and you cannot compare the two. 


I believe as a teacher trainee that reading dramas in school will benefit the students imagination. They have to read between the lines and really use their own imagination since the manuscript only provides them with the conversations and not what happens around the characters.

Presentation

I'm a 21 year old student at a university in the southern parts of Sweden.

In this blog I will write about parts of my life at university, about my studies and some reflections about teaching.

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
      1
2
3
4
5
6
7 8 9 10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<<< September 2016 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Skapa flashcards