Alla inlägg den 5 november 2016

Av x y - 5 november 2016 17:15

I have decided I want to study abroad. First I wanted to go to England but that is not really possible for me as a teacker trainee since it is very difficult to find courses that suit my studies at my home univeristy. Instead I'm going to the US after one of my preofessors told me that there are three universities where it is easy to find courses that are suitable and where other students have gone and been really happy with it. 


I decided to look further into San Francisco and Duluth. I kind of think that I'm leaning more against Duluth than San Francisco and the reason why is because of the courses that are available. In Duluth there where a lot more courses and I found many that would be interesting and hopefully I will get to study some of them, keep your fingers crossed guys. The sexond reason is kind of lame but Duluth university's webpage was a lot easier to navigate and find the courses than San Francisco, which I think is really bad since I think it should be easy to find what you can study at a university. 


Since I'm probably going to the US I will get housing through the university and don't have to find an appartement on my own which I believe is a really nice benefit. Knowing beforehand that you will have somewhere to live when you get there is really calming in one way, on the other hand it is also a bit scary since you probably will share rooms with other students. But more about that when we get that far.

Av x y - 5 november 2016 16:34

It is anot always the motivation is on top when you have to study. I once heard someone say don't feel so much just do it. At times I can find it difficult to study, when I think the assignment is unclear, or it is a lot to read, or you are just not in the mood for actually spending time studying when you can do something else that is a lot more fun.


Like today, I started to bake bread instead of picking up The Good Research Guide and read the chapter about Ethnography. Knowing that if I don't do it today I have to do it tomorrow since the seminar is on Monday. And I also know that I have to read a 30 page article tomorrow for the same seminar, so in my study plan I divided the reading so that I wouldn't need to read everything on the same day.


At the moment we are reading about speaking in class. Students need to practice speaking but how do you de this in a fun and not intimidating way? Well, according to The Practice of English Language Teaching by Jeremy Harmer students often feel anxious when they are supposed to speak, and this is because students are often asked to speak without giving them time to prepare what they are going to say or that they have to speak in front of the entire class. Dividing the students into smaller groups and giving them some time to think about how they would say something I belive would be a valuable way of getting students to speak. I also believe that you as a teacher shouldn't interupt your students to correct them when they speak but encurage them to use the language. 

Presentation

I'm a 21 year old student at a university in the southern parts of Sweden.

In this blog I will write about parts of my life at university, about my studies and some reflections about teaching.

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14
15
16 17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28 29 30
<<< November 2016 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards