Alla inlägg den 4 november 2016

Av x y - 4 november 2016 18:12

As you may know it is very common for students to work at the same time as they study. How do you make the time for it? What do you need to think about?


Planning is the most important thing inorder of havign time to both work and study. Many students need to work at the same time since they don't have enough money otherwise. I believe it is important to have a workplace where you can say no to working sometimes since you will have exams, papers to write and lectures and at least at my university you can have exams on weekends. It could be a good idea to find a workplace that is related to what you study, gaining practice is always a good idea and it will look good on your CV if you have worked with similar things. Another thing that look nice to have on your CV is volunteer work.


I actually work as a translator at the moment and I can decide if I want to take the jobs I'm offered and can plan my hours, when it suits me to work and when it doesn't as long as I hand in the work on time. Working as a translator is not a secure income since you never know how much work you will get or how much you will get paid each month. At the company I work at they pay in Euro and I can myself decide if I want to take out my pay or not. I can take out October pay in December if I feel it works better for me, which I think is really nice.

Av x y - 4 november 2016 15:15

There are a lot of things happening right now in my life, there is studies, obviously, work and something a bit more exciting if everything works out. I might go to the US to study in the Spring of 2018. Yes, it seems far away but apparently you have to apply before the 1st of December so I still have one month to get everything together. I will try to explain the process of applying and things I have been thinking of and will think of during this whole process.


First, you have to decide where you want to go. This is not as easy as it sounds since you have to pick a place where you can take courses that are similar to those you are going to take at your home university at that semester in order to be able to transfer the credits. Otherwise you will have to study one term extra to make up for the term you missed. 


Second, you have to find courses and get them approved by the examinor at your university. This part would have been a lot easier if anybody knew who the hell is examinating the courses I will take but apparently nothing is every going to be easy right? So here came my first bump in the road. It was superhard to find someone who actually could answer my question "Who should I talk to?". At my university the teacher programme is not part of a faculty, which means I don't belong to a certain faculty which means that I don't have anyone who really works with students who want to go abroad and can help them. My second difficulty at this stage was also that during the semester on which I might go I'm studying history. Hurray for that I got accepted but the thing is history isn't really part of any faculty either and is kind of an inbetweener. Fourtunalty I have an amazing professor at the English faculty who is really that kind of person who takes time to find you an answer and it doesn't matter what you are asking. 


Right now in my plans I'm at the part where I look for possible courses at mainly two universities, San Francisco state university and Duluth univeristy in Minnesota. On Monday I have a meeting with the examinor of the course and hopefully I have managed to find some suitable courses.

Av x y - 4 november 2016 08:15

Since I'm probably going abroad to study in the US in the Spring of 2018 I was thinking that I might tell you guys about the process of choosing where to go, applying, the hinders that might occur and how I manage to get around them. Going abroad is such a big thing today and it is a really valuable experience which many employers really value when hiring. I have already been to Oxford, England studying English for one month and it was amazing going somewhere else and see something new. 


The application process is the first thing I will tell you about. I will also write about my thoughts and feelings about the universities I have in mind and why or why not I want to go there. Furthermore, I will tell you about all the preparations and finally I will blogg about what I'm doing on my term abroad, if I get in that is. There are tests that I need to do and the application process is long and difficult since a lot of students want to go and there aren't places for everyone.


I hope you will enjoy reading about this adventure!

Presentation

I'm a 21 year old student at a university in the southern parts of Sweden.

In this blog I will write about parts of my life at university, about my studies and some reflections about teaching.

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14
15
16 17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28 29 30
<<< November 2016 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards