Direktlänk till inlägg 4 november 2016

First steps to go abroad

Av x y - 4 november 2016 15:15

There are a lot of things happening right now in my life, there is studies, obviously, work and something a bit more exciting if everything works out. I might go to the US to study in the Spring of 2018. Yes, it seems far away but apparently you have to apply before the 1st of December so I still have one month to get everything together. I will try to explain the process of applying and things I have been thinking of and will think of during this whole process.


First, you have to decide where you want to go. This is not as easy as it sounds since you have to pick a place where you can take courses that are similar to those you are going to take at your home university at that semester in order to be able to transfer the credits. Otherwise you will have to study one term extra to make up for the term you missed. 


Second, you have to find courses and get them approved by the examinor at your university. This part would have been a lot easier if anybody knew who the hell is examinating the courses I will take but apparently nothing is every going to be easy right? So here came my first bump in the road. It was superhard to find someone who actually could answer my question "Who should I talk to?". At my university the teacher programme is not part of a faculty, which means I don't belong to a certain faculty which means that I don't have anyone who really works with students who want to go abroad and can help them. My second difficulty at this stage was also that during the semester on which I might go I'm studying history. Hurray for that I got accepted but the thing is history isn't really part of any faculty either and is kind of an inbetweener. Fourtunalty I have an amazing professor at the English faculty who is really that kind of person who takes time to find you an answer and it doesn't matter what you are asking. 


Right now in my plans I'm at the part where I look for possible courses at mainly two universities, San Francisco state university and Duluth univeristy in Minnesota. On Monday I have a meeting with the examinor of the course and hopefully I have managed to find some suitable courses.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av x y - 23 december 2016 10:45

 Literary analysis might sound scary or difficult but it actually isn't when breaking it down into smaller parts. Which is what we are going to do. We are going to break down the literary analysis into four basic parts and take a look at what should ...

Av x y - 21 december 2016 12:45

As you might know most teachers teches two different subjects. These subjects are at times possible to combine with each other and thus get more teaching time for a project. For myself I will be teaching English and History and these subjects are eas...

Av x y - 20 december 2016 10:30

I've decided to broaden my blog and write a bit more about how to analyse novels, poems, films and so forth. I will go through some important aspects and terminology. I will also include references to some literature I believe is useful when analysin...

Av x y - 19 december 2016 10:45

  O Rose thou art sick.  The invisible worm,  That flies in the night  In the howling storm:    Has found out thy bed  Of crimson joy:  And his dark secret love  Does thy life destroy.   The Sick Rose, a poem written by William Blake i...

Av x y - 18 december 2016 15:30

Instead of studying I spent the day shopping for Christmas gifts and a little something to myself. I also baked a gingerbread cake since I ate the last saffron bun a few days ago and I crawed something sweet and didn't want to buy something in the st...

Presentation

I'm a 21 year old student at a university in the southern parts of Sweden.

In this blog I will write about parts of my life at university, about my studies and some reflections about teaching.

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14
15
16 17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28 29 30
<<< November 2016 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards