Alla inlägg den 2 december 2016

Av x y - 2 december 2016 11:30

How well connected are practice and theory? Studying to become a teacher you study for 5 years of which 20 week are practice. The rest of the time you study didactics, pedagogy and of course the subject you are going to teach. Is this really the best way? Well, yes you can't take away time from learning the subject you are teaching since you need the knowledge, if you are going to teach English you need to know a lot of history, grammar, linguistics, literature and of course how to implement this in the classroom. But is it enough just to talk about it in the classroom? Shouldn't teacher trainees get the opportunity to actually practice what they learn? In one way I think that for a 5 year long programe it's really wierd that you only get 20 weeks of practice and the rest of the time you have approximately 5h/ week of lectures and the rest of the time you study by yourself either at home or at the library.


Personally, I would love to have more practice since you learn so much and you get to find your own teaching role. I found that I hate standing in front of the class preaching about grammar and stuff, that I rather get the students activated and walk around in the classroom and interact with the students and answer questions. This way I believe you get more knowledge about what the students actually know and you get a different kind of connection to your students and your students ask questions. All students are not that confident that they want to speak in front of the entire class so I really believe that walking around gives all students the opportunity to ask you questions without everyone listening.


Being on your teacher practicum also gives you an opportunity to grow as a person. I would have never believed that I would be confident enough to teach grammar or anything at upper secondary school. I have always been really shy and didn't like to speak in front of the class and I still hate giving presentations at uni and I get really nervous but in some way you don't get nervous when teaching and speking in fron of your students. It's relly wierd that talking to 30 students doesn't make you nervous but you really enjoy it but talking in front of your friends makes you so nervous and you forget half of what you are supposed to say.


What I want to say is, practice makes perfect and the more you get to practice and try different things the more you learn.

Tidigare månad - Senare månad

Presentation

I'm a 21 year old student at a university in the southern parts of Sweden.

In this blog I will write about parts of my life at university, about my studies and some reflections about teaching.

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
      1 2 3
4
5
6 7 8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15 16
17
18
19 20 21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<<< December 2016
>>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Skapa flashcards